Welcome to the oDesk Community! Connect here with fellow buyers, providers, and oDesk staff. Please review our Usage Policy.

elabs3.com "Free Java hosting offer for oDesk developers" question.

Did anybody receive any offer from elabs3.com pretending to be from oDesk?

I got one with the attributes:

---

From: "oDesk" noreply@odesk.com

Reply-To: noreply@odesk.com

Received: from mail35.elabs3.com (mail35.elabs3.com [208.66.204.135])

---

What is it elabs3.com ? Does anybody know? Are they related to oDesk?

Thanks.

Vote Result
----------
Score: 0.0, Votes: 0

Most probarbly its a spam

I've also got this type of invitation mail for free java hosting.

 I googled a bit and found something interesting-

http://www.toastedspam.com/stupid/disptext/elabs3.com_0001

Its a smart way of scam I guess. Alternatively, it is faking odesk as sender.

 Better to hear from odesk about this. Otherwise, some members may get scammed.

Thanks,

Mukadir Hossain

It is from oDesk - not a scam

Hey all, 

This is not a scam.  This is indeed an offer from one of our partners, OStatic.  The elabs3.com domain is from our email service provider and we use it to manage our email marketing lists.

Sorry for the confusion,

Josh Breinlinger

 oDesk

Thank you for the info.

jbreinlinger wrote:

Hey all, 

This is not a scam.  This is indeed an offer from one of our partners, OStatic.  The elabs3.com domain is from our email service provider and we use it to manage our email marketing lists.

Sorry for the confusion,

Josh Breinlinger

 oDesk

Thank you for the info. Since there is no address to reject the offer, I'm rejecting the offer right here - no, I don't need Java web host service since I am not a Java developer. If you could offer ASP.NET 3.5 / MS SQL 2005/2008 web host service - I'd appreciate it very much.

Thank you again.

tags/REL_20081112A# 1154 built on 2008/11/13 02:00