*Beware* Moneybookers phishing scam
on Mon, 2006-12-11 22:28. Tips and Best Practices Important note to oDesk Providers using Moneybookers:
Please be aware there is a phishing email going around attempting to get user's Moneybookers account information. If you get this email do not open the links and delete the email immediately. Below is information on how to recognize these scams and a copy of the Moneybookers Phishing email.
How to tell if an e-mail message is fraudulent:
Here are a few phrases to look for if you think an e-mail message is a phishing scam.
"Verify your account."
Businesses should not ask you to send passwords, login names, Social Security numbers, or other personal information through e-mail.
"If you don't respond within 48 hours, your account will be closed."
These messages convey a sense of urgency so that you'll respond immediately without thinking. Phishing e-mail might even claim that your response is required because your account might have been compromised.
"Dear Valued Customer."
Phishing e-mail messages are usually sent out in bulk and often do not contain your first or last name.
"Click the link below to gain access to your account."
HTML-formatted messages can contain links or forms that you can fill out just as you'd fill out a form on a Web site.
The links that you are urged to click may contain all or part of a real company's name and are usually "masked," meaning that the link you see does not take you to that address but somewhere different, usually a phony Web site.
For example, in the email below, although the link seems to go to www.moneybooker.com/... it actually goes to http://www.accessnetsol.net/app/index.html which is not a Moneybookers website.
Moneybookers phishing email:
=====================================================================================
*******************************************************************************************
THIS IS AN AUTOMATED EMAIL - PLEASE DO NOT REPLY.
TO REPLY YOU MUST LOGIN TO YOUR MONEYBOOKERS ACCOUNT AND SEND US A
MESSAGE
VIA OUR MESSAGING CENTRE.
*******************************************************************************************
Dear Moneybookers Customer,
You have added example@email.com as a new email address for your
Moneybookers account.
Please login to your account :
https://www.moneybookers.com/app/login.pl
Thank you for using Moneybookers!
*******************************
Moneybookers Security Reminders
Protect Your Password
Moneybookers and its representatives will NEVER ask you to reveal your
password. There are NO EXCEPTIONS to this policy. If anyone asks for
your password by phone or by email, or on any website other than
moneybookers.com, refuse and immediately report this to
security@moneybookers.com.
Access your account ONLY using the login link on the Moneybookers
homepage
Please be advised that Moneybookers and its representatives will NEVER
send you an email asking you to provide your login details within a
form provided or to click on a hyperlink to access your account!
Immediately report any incident to security@moneybookers.com.
Case Sensitive Login
Please remember your password is case-sensitive, at least 6 characters
long and contains at least one number or non-alphabetic character such
as '-'.
*******************************
Moneybookers phishing email
Yes, I received one now. Reported it to moneybookers security. I immediately changed my password. Then I search the net for the email add. And I found your forum. Thank you for the information.
Update: By the way the link that was provided goes to moneybookers.com but log your out again. I wondered why so I log in again. It logs in.
The next thing I did was to access it right from my browser and changed my password immediately.
Update: I was informed by Moneybookers of the failed log in attempt just now. Thank God I've changed it just on time. And I appreciate that Moneybookers are fast to telling you about log in attempts.
This is a lesson for me. Never open links from emails. My first experience with phishing scams and God has protected me well. I thank God.
Another phishing email I
Another phishing email I received over the weekend:
******************************************************
You've got cash
Greetings from moneybookers.com! We would like to inform you that you have received a payment from merchatrade3@merctrade.com.
Payment details
Amount: USD 147.00
ID: 89089098
Subject: withdraw complete
Note: Click here to accept this payment
Your money is waiting for you in your Moneybookers account.
Use this link to accept payment- www.moneybookers.com.
We hope you enjoy your cash.
Moneybookers Security Reminders
Case Sensitive Login
Please remember your password is case-sensitive, at least 6 characters long and contains at least one number or non-alphabetic character such as '-'.
Moneybookers Ltd., London, Registered in England and Wales no 4260907.
Registered office: C3 Cairngorm House, Meridian Gate, 203 Marsh Wall, London E14 9YT, United Kingdom.
Authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority of the United Kingdom (FSA).
********************************************************
Again, the link provided doesn't link directly to moneybookers website, but rather to http://www.aol.com/ams/clickThruRedirect.adp?1073762100,2147779757x21475....
If you receive a similar email, make sure to not click any links it includes!
Regards,
Olga
oDesk