All Things oDesk
March 28, 2007 by oDesk

We will be making a significant change within the next month in order to share more information in the oDesk marketplace and enrich the user experience for everyone. You can see detailed discussion of the upcoming feature here. It will make many more jobs available to view, even if they have been cancelled or filled. The intent of making jobs available after being filled or cancelled is to educate the marketplace; allowing providers to learn how to better acquire jobs and allowing buyers to gain a deeper understanding of a provider's assignment history. We believe that an open exchange of information is critical to making a marketplace operate efficiently.

In order to prepare for the upcoming feature, we are now enabling privacy controls for buyers for any past job openings. We do our best to balance the marketplace's need for open information with our individual users' needs for some privacy control. To that end, any buyer can now go to their My Jobs tab and click on any of their past jobs to edit the visibility settings.

1) Go to My Jobs tab and search for All jobs
2) Click on any Job title
3) Select Change Visibility

Buyers: we recommend going to your My Jobs tab to review the privacy settings for any jobs you've posted in the past.