Female narrator needed for audiobook (dark romance).

Cancelled

Job Description

Narrator needed for a new dark romance serial. Fans of CJ Roberts and Aleatha Romig preferred.

The book is written in first-person present tense. Need somebody who is interested in the subject matter and will read the book in its entirety before beginning recording. The protagonist is a young woman (Lilly Ryder) in her early 20s. Female narrator would be most suitable.

I am looking for someone who can really capture the hopelessness and severity of the situation our heroine finds herself in. I want an engaged narration that is exciting to listen to. The majority of this book is Lilly's thoughts. There is little dialogue.

Here is the book description:

--

When I wake up in a dark, unfamiliar room, I have no idea what's waiting for me in the shadows. My imagination conjures up demons of the worst kind.

Reality is much worse:

A collar with no leash. A prison with no walls. And a life stripped of meaning.

I am presented with a vile contract and asked to sign. It outlines the terms of my servitude. The only information I have about my captor are the two small letters inked at the bottom:

J.S.

Armed with only my memories, I must do everything I can to avoid becoming ensnared in his twisted mind games. But in the end, it all comes down to one choice:

Resist and die.

Or submit, and sign my life away.

--

The script is attached. Please read through it to get a feel for the style before your audition. You don't have to record ALL of it -- I just attached the entire first chapter for you, as a reader, to understand where the story is going.

I need a 2-3 minute audition, no more, just to gauge your voice.

If the description intrigues you, and you are available to finish the work before March 20th, I want to hear your audition! Most important is capturing the heart and soul of the book through your voice.

I recently listened to the Canterbury tales and really liked the pacing and dramatization of the narrators. A quick listen to the sample on Audible.com will show you what I mean:

http://www.audible.com/pd/Classics/The-Canterbury-Tales-Audiobook/B002V5IZHW/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_srTtl?qid=1392429669&sr=1-1

I'm not looking for monotonous reading. Like I said, most of the book is Lilly's thoughts, and I imagining them coming frantically, especially at the very start, as she's confused and scared and frightened about where she finds herself. I think the reading should be fast, to match that. There are later parts of the book (which you'll see) where Lilly falls back into her memories. Those parts will fit a more natural pacing. But the present day situations, where she's in the dark, and scared, and alone, need that edge of panic and fear, I think.

If you want to approach it differently, however, I'm still very interested in hearing it!

Also, please give your price in $ per finished hour. Ignore the 'fixed price'. I want to see the range of auditions before deciding on a price range.

The book is the first in a series of serials. Projects would be continuous. Each book will be 20,000 to 25,000 words in length.

Thanks,
Scarlett

Open Attachment